Skip to content

A South African Vegetable Patch

January 6, 2011

I mentioned in my first post about trying to grow my own vegetables here in Dubai, that my Dad always had a veggie patch in the back garden. We grew up eating vegetables and seasonal fruit right from our very own garden. My efforts to grow my own vegetables here in the desert started off rather well, but has now ended in almost total disaster. I have harvested 8 beautiful egg plants, and the tomatoes are holding their own, but not enough to write home about. The corn as I mentioned in my last post has died as has the zucchini. Non of the babies have grown into prize winning marrows. The pumpkins appear to be suffering from the same problem, lots of little babies that just don’t become adults. This is all very frustrating and disappointing. My dad’s veggie garden at our house in Glentana, which is situated on the magnificent Garden Route, between Mossel Bay and George, is something of incredible beauty and fertility! As I mentioned in my previous post, most of the vegetables we ate on Christmas Eve were from this garden. Carrots, cabbages, beans, beautiful pumpkins, tomatoes and spinach are growing abundantly. It is truly special to be able to eat your own, home grown produce. Not only could we look in the garden and plan our meals around what was in supply, it is also a huge money saver. Not to mention the health benefits of eating organically, since non of these beauties were sprayed with chemical fertilisers and insecticides.

This weekend I plan to rip out all the dying vegetable plants here in my Dubai garden and plant some salad seeds. Oh how I dream of one day having a vegetable garden just like my dad’s.

Now this is a veggie garden, don’t you think?

No comments yet

Love hearing from you, so feel free to leave a comment.

