Skip to content

Studio Portraits

February 28, 2011

This gorgeous young man, is Hudson. He and his mom visited me in my home studio recently for a portrait session. I love photographing little kids. They are so spontaneous and honest. With little two year olds, like Hudson you gotta be quick, since they tire really easily. On the other hand they react to bribes in a very positive way…Hudson really liked grapes, so as long as we supplied grapes he was totally co-operative. Thank you Hudson, for making my job such a pleasure.

See those grapes? He loved them.

On the other hand, I decided to set myself a challenge of taking my own self portrait. Let me be totally up front when I tell you I totally HATE myself in pictures. I am no oil painting. I am far more comfortable behind the camera than I am in front of it. However, I did say that I was going to step out of my comfort zone this year so please view this, as my artistic expression of myself. These have not been photoshopped with softening techniques or wrinkle removal techniques, simply because I wanted to be honest in my expression. Honest and probably stupid. Hope no one from my school days sees this. This is taking a huge deal of courage to post, so please be gentle with me…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 2:07 PM

    He is a cutie – great shots. Did you ever see my effort at self portraits? It’s embarrassing, and yet at the same time I’m strangely proud of myself. It was a task set by the teacher at the DLC course I did. I think you need to show us many more!

  2. Laura permalink
    March 2, 2011 8:55 PM

    We had a wonderful photo session with you, Edwina. You were so patient with Hudson and went well above the call 0f duty to make him comfortable and happy. It all shows in his pictures!! Our family and friends back home love the prints we sent and the quality is professional. We will be visiting you again once baby boy #2 arrives. Thanks again!

  3. March 3, 2011 12:25 PM

    Thanks Laura, Hudson was great! I’ll remember the grapes when you come round again…

Love hearing from you, so feel free to leave a comment.

