Skip to content

French Toast, Bacon and Fruit for Breakfast

March 1, 2011

I don’t know about you, but in my house a weekday breakfast is usually  boring and I hate to say it, but just a fuel-up for the day. Usually it’s cereal. Cardboard as The Italian puts it. Sometimes when I actually have five minutes to spare between packing the lunches and snacks, I’ll make egg or baked beans on toast or just toast with peanut butter or honey or whatever is on order. On weekends though, when we have a little more time, which is unusual what with soccer and swimming on Saturday mornings, I might make something a little more substantial.

This past weekend it was practically lunch time when I finally got my act together. I decided on french toast with bacon.  Whilst the bacon was grilling in the oven, I got on with the egg bread as the boys like to call it. I used the Spelt Bread from my previous post. I cut each slice in half, since the loaf is very tall. I then soaked each slice in beaten egg. It takes about 1 egg per slice. You have to make sure you soak it well, otherwise you’ll get an egg covering with dry bread in the centre, not a good look on French Toast. Heat up a little vegetable oil in a frying pan, just a thin layer on the bottom will do, then when it’s hot, slip in the egg bread. Fry on medium high until golden, then flip it over to the other side. Once golden, remove and drain it on some kitchen paper before putting it on a plate. Top with crispy bacon and then a drizzle of honey. Yes, a drizzle of honey. It is delicious. It’s a bit like having bacon on pancakes drizzled with maple syrup. Don’t bother counting calories with this one, just close your eyes and enjoy the moment.

Feeling pretty industrious, I also prepared a little pot of natural yoghurt with fruit. In this case strawberries and bananas. These too were drizzled with honey. They went down a treat. I hardly ever buy flavoured yoghurts, unless they are those beautiful organic ones without added sugars and additives. My kids love natural yoghurt on its own with honey or with fresh fruit. These little numbers look so good, it’s hard for anyone to turn their nose up. By the way talking of honey, the honey used in both these recipes comes from my dad’s very own beehive. I will post all about that on a later date.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2011 10:05 AM

    oooh, your fruity-tutty treat looks uber healthy! Must try this soon 🙂

  2. March 8, 2011 11:05 AM

    This is exactly what I was thinking and i’m looking for more at google

Love hearing from you, so feel free to leave a comment.

