Skip to content

Spelt Bread, the wheat alternative.

March 1, 2011

Spelt Bread

After a battery of blood tests to discover the cause of symptoms I have been suffering ( I won’t bore you with the details), I apparently may be allergic/sensitive to wheat. Changing from wheat to gluten free, is unfortunately not going to solve all the problems, but at least it’s a start. The first thing I did was to pay a visit to the Organic Foods and Cafe, which is our local supermarket in Dubai where one is be able to find all sorts of gluten and vegan options. I decided to give spelt a try. Now, the funny thing is that the packet states that spelt is gluten free. However, after doing a little research on the internet, I discovered that spelt is in fact a distant cousin of ordinary wheat and in fact does contain gluten. The gluten in spelt can however be tolerated by individuals with a gluten sensitivity. If you are highly allergic to gluten, spelt is probably not for you.

Spelt is an ancient grain that contains more fibre, more protein and is higher in B-Complex vitamins than ordinary wheat. Spelt also has a hard outer husk, which protects it from pollutants. Spelt has a wonderful nutty taste and can apparently be substituted for ordinary flour when baking. When I went shopping I noticed you can buy spelt flour either as ordinary spelt or brown/whole grain spelt. For my loaf ,I used a combination of brown and white spelt which produced a lovely loaf not dissimilar to ordinary wheat. I loved how you do not have to add eggs to the mixture as you do when baking with gluten free flour. The taste was delicious and got a thumbs up from the whole household. I have to say that since I stopped eating wheat, I definitely feel less bloated and I swear I feel as though I have lost some weight, although this might just be because I have lost the bloat.

This loaf was made in my brand new bread machine (my previous one no longer works). I got the recipe off the Kenwood website.

You simply put the ingredients in the following order into the bread pan and then push the button for the program, 1 in this case. You then get on with whatever you want to do and the machine does all the work and then produces the most beautiful loaf whilst filling your home with the smell of home baked bread. What could be better?

400ml luke warm water

22 1/2 ml vegetable oil

7 1/2 ml salt

20 ml sugar

25 ml skimmed milk powder (I left this out)

600 g spelt flour ( I used 400 g white spelt and 200 g brown spelt)

5 ml dried yeast

Love hearing from you, so feel free to leave a comment.

