Skip to content

Spiced Oatmeal Cake

March 13, 2011

Spiced Oatmeal Cake

I am a huge fan of oats. Anything containing oats, I feel must be good for you. Eating oats, will provide you with lots of health benefits. Oats provide a significant amount of both soluble and insoluble dietary fibre. The soluble fibre in oats has been proven to lower blood cholesterol. Oats has a low glycemic index (GI), therefore it helps keep blood sugar levels even. The soluble fire in oats slows down digestion and prolongs the release of carbohydrates into the bloodstream, thereby avoiding massive fluctuations in blood sugar levels. A bowl of oats or oatmeal porridge in the morning is a great way to start the day. Unfortunately, my love of oats porridge has not rubbed off onto my children. I have to find other ways of getting it into their diets. From time to time I make my own granola, which is a mixture of oats, nuts, coconut and dried fruit. They love it served with natural yogurt and honey.

To my delight, I discovered this recipe in my latest addition to my cookbook collection, Wholefood Kitchen, by Ross Dobson. He describes it as “…a dense and richly spiced cake…” It is delicious, and of course I think the addition of oats helps to bring a little more health into our diets. His recipe has the addition of a cinnamon chocolate frosting, which I have omitted, since I thought the amount of sugar in the recipe was enough already. It is a dense cake, almost like a brownie, but still crumbly. The addition of oats gives it an added dimension of pleasure, and lessens the guilt trip somewhat. You simply have to discover it for yourself.

The recipes in the book all contain wholefoods such as beans, lentils and grains. It covers everything from starters like hommous and spicy chilli bean dip to mains. I made the chickpea and fresh spinach curry and the mung bean and vegetable curry, a few weeks ago. I felt as though I was on Ready Steady Cook, making two main dishes on the same night. I just couldn’t help myself . Both were to die for . Flavourful and not too hot so even the boys tucked in with gusto!

No comments yet

Love hearing from you, so feel free to leave a comment.

