Skip to content

French Radishes and salt.

May 4, 2011

Radishes and salt

My trip to the supermarket yesterday, made me especially happy. I found these lovely little French radishes flown in from France. It is at times like this, when instead of closing my eyes and thinking of England, I close my eyes and try not think of all those carbon emissions that have been clocked up getting these little beauties to the desert in the first place. Living in the desert makes no sense at all from a green perspective. Our very presence here means that we are all part of the problem. The water we use for washing and watering our thirsty gardens is all desalinated thereby wreaking havoc with the water table. Most of the food we eat is flown in from abroad. I shudder to think what my carbon footprint is living here in Dubai. I have wrestled with this problem since we began living here. Do I buy local, most likely covered in pesticides and grown with desalinated water or do I buy imported thus increasing my ever expanding carbon footprint ? I feel increasingly guilty even though I do my share of recycling and composting. My fellow Dubai blogger over at The Hedonista tackled this dilemma beautifully in her post here.

When I saw these radishes I couldn’t help think back to the fantastic time I had in France with my friend Liz almost a year ago. We went on a cooking course and it was there that I had my first taste of these pink little roots dipped in sea salt. So obviously my nostalgia got the better of me and I simply had to have them. These small radishes have a sweet peppery taste which the salt complements beautifully. This type is much less peppery than its cousin the plump round radish.

Radishes also have some amazing health benefits. They are a very rich source of vitamin c and calcium. Radishes belong to the cruciferous family (cabbage, kale, broccoli, brussels sprouts) and therefore known to be valuable in the fight against cancer. If you are worried about the salt and its effect on your blood pressure, read this article and many others regarding the health benefits of unrefined sea salt. Unrefined sea salt contains trace minerals that are both essential and lacking in our modern diets. The soil that our fruits and vegetables are grown in are now mostly devoid of trace minerals as is the bottled water we drink. Like everything, staying close to nature and avoiding processed food is always better for us and the environment, as is moderation.

French Radishes

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2011 9:35 PM

    It seems radishes are the flavour of the month eh?! I love your photos with this post- there’s something different about them 😉

  2. May 5, 2011 8:56 AM

    Wow… i love radishes ! never tried a french radish in a recipe ! but will definitely do so now ! The photographs are incredible 🙂 as always…

  3. May 5, 2011 9:37 AM

    Thanks ladies. Always nice to receive positive feedback.

  4. May 5, 2011 8:35 PM

    Came by from Food Pixels (FB page) and I have to say I am in LOVE with the first pics. The colors are so vibrant and gorgeous that it makes me happy. and i haven’t yet come across those small elongated radishes.. pretty.

  5. Harriet permalink
    May 6, 2011 10:11 AM

    Hi Edwina – i really love these photos, they look so fresh but they’re making me homesick for France. There I pay about a euro for a huge bunch from the market and then I eat them like sweets – can’t stay away from them! xx

  6. May 6, 2011 4:04 PM

    Oh Harriet I know. I eat them like sweets too.

Love hearing from you, so feel free to leave a comment.

