Skip to content

Celebrating Mother’s Day

May 8, 2011
tags:

Today  many mothers woke up to breakfasts in bed, hand made gifts, flowers and a never ending assortment of gifts and trinkets from the most special people in our lives, our children. Here in Dubai, Sunday is a work and school day, so no breakfasts in bed for us today since we were getting lunch boxes packed and our children off to school.

I did not get any handmade gifts or cards this year, probably because their dad was away on business. However I did get amazing hugs and kisses and an amazing “bio poem” written by my youngest. His class had invited their moms to a special presentation where they each read out a poem to their mothers. The poem was a biography describing their moms using adjectives. Before going I received strict instructions, “Mamma please no crying and no kissing.” Nine is a very cool age, and the thing they dread most is being embarrassed.

The poems were beautiful, funny and honest. The children did a great job. The mothers smiled shyly and some shed a tear or two. It amazed me how intuitive these kids are. We go about our days raising our children, doing the things that mothers do. We share our fears in hushed tones with our  husbands and stories with our friends, thinking our kids don’t hear us. But they do. They pick up on our emotions, our deepest fears and anxieties and our desires and they translate them into poems and stories for the world to hear and read. I was pleased that my son does see me as someone who does not place enormous value on material things, apart from handbags. He also sees me as a giver of love and health and company. That was nice. Did he recognise that the way I feed my family gives them health? I think he does. I hope he does.

Today reminded me of the talk I attended by English writer Gervase Phinn. Mr. Phinn is a wonderful story  teller. His stories are about the funny things that children say, all based on his vast experience as a teacher and school inspector in England. At his talk, he said something that resonated with me. Although I cannot remember his exact words, it goes something like this. Our children all carry a piece of us with them. We leave an imprint on our children’s lives. It made me think about what kind of imprint I want to leave on my children’s lives. We need to be so careful of what we say and what we do to our children, since our very words and actions will shape who they become and the type of parents they might be. Tread carefully, love deeply. Your children are watching and listening and they’re writing poems about you.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers wherever you may be.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2011 10:14 PM

    Edwina….a greta and heartfelt post. It sounds liek you had the perfect Mothers Day with your boys! Happy Mother’s Day again!

  2. May 10, 2011 12:36 PM

    Happy Mothers day!

    I still have 7 years of public kisses and hugs with little V before I get a strict rule not too.

  3. May 10, 2011 12:42 PM

    Enjoy Abigail. Although my friends tell me it all changes back when they are older.

Love hearing from you, so feel free to leave a comment.

