Skip to content

Hot Chocolate on a Stick.

July 13, 2011

 

 


Well hello again. It’s been a while since I have posted anything. The day the schools closed for the summer break we were off. We enjoyed a really quick break in Perth, Western Australia and stopped over in Hong Kong for three nights on our way back to Dubai. It was a crazy, jam packed 10 days I tell you. Perth was more of a had to do ( will enlighten you all about this much later) trip and Hong Kong was purely pleasure/educational. My next post will be all about Hong Kong so be sure to check back.

Within a week of being back, I had a job with a new candy store here in Dubai. Candelite have recently opened their doors to the public and boast a lovely, bright store that Willy Wonka would envy. Once I completed the shoot I couldn’t just leave empty handed. That would have been impossible for anyone. As you know, I am not a big fan of sugar or artificial additives.  Yes, they obviously have candy, and as a candy store they stock the usual sugary sweets that kids love and moms like me loath.  However, Candelite are also  surprisingly different. They also stock a large range of guilt free candies and chocolates including gourmet chocolates like the lovely Hot Chocolate Spoons you see above. These come in a range of flavours from hazelnut, chocolate orange and white milk chocolate to the plain chocolate ranges where you are able to choose how much cocoa you would like. I bought the 72% Dark Chocolate that you see in the cups and the 85% Dark Chocolate that you see on the side.

To enjoy a delicious cup of hot chocolate you simply warm up about 300ml of milk and then pop the chocolate block into the milk. It then slowly starts to melt. You then have the option of stirring and melting it into the milk or if you’re like me, you won’t be able to wait and you can do a lick-and-stir combination which as you can imagine is simply heavenly. Of course I am a bit of a stickler for ingredients, and these little chocolate blocks satisfy my criteria. The ingredients are as follows: cocoa mass, cocoa butter, sugar, soy lecithin (emulsifier) and vanilla. They are made in The Netherlands by Chocolate Company.

Like many moms I am very aware of the effect that sugar has on my kids’ behaviour. However, we also cannot prevent our kids from eating everything that contains sugar. We can however educate our children to make good choices when choosing sweet treats. I would rather my kids eat good quality chocolate that cheap candies crammed full of artificial colourants, flavours and e-numbers. These Hot Chocolate Spoons tick all the boxes. At Dhs 19 a piece it is quite a pricey cup of hot chocolate, but I think it would make a great sleep-over treat or once in a while gourmet treat.

Candelite have branches in Dubai at Ibn Battuta Mall and Mirdif City Centre.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 10:26 PM

    I want to try these! I wonder if I could make them.

    • July 13, 2011 10:39 PM

      I was thinking the same thing. Give it a bash and let me know. They really make a fantastic cup of hot chocolate:)

  2. July 18, 2011 9:49 AM

    Goodday!
    so nice to read that you like our product! However you’d better use 200 ml of milk to have
    the best result! We will do our best to stay innovative. All the best from the Netherlands!
    Mirjam Schroeder/founder of Chocolate Company.

Love hearing from you, so feel free to leave a comment.

