Skip to content

Vegan Tropical Berry Muffins

November 23, 2011

Imagine being invited to a restuarant by a friend only to discover that you cannot eat anything from the menu.  This is what it is like for people with allergies. I’ve been on the candida diet for about 10 months now so I no longer feel dissappointed when I am faced with something I cannot eat. I simply get on with it and focus on the things I can eat. For a child who has been following an elimination diet for three months, it’s early days.

Having food allergies and intolerances can sometimes be nothing short of well, intolerable. Especially when you’re a kid. The weather in Dubai is great at the moment. Possibly the only place on earth where you actually go to the beach in winter. The Italian suggested we get together with some friends and my brother and sister in law (yeah we now have family living here) and have breakfast on the beach. “Bring coffee and croissants” he said. My first reaction was panic. Coffee and croissants was a fab idea but what about Gianluca’s allergies and mine?

Baking gluten, dairy and egg free is quite a challenge. Difficult, but not impossible. What is challenging, is making stuff that tastes good. Even for those that are not on restrictive diets.

Behold, the ultimate breakfast/ tea time snack that is so delicious that everyone, even hardcore gluten lovers ( imagine telling an Italian he cannot have pasta?)  are pleasantly surprised. These little lovelies contain no gluten, no eggs, no dairy and no sugar. Before you say it, no they are not taste free either. On the contrary they are delicious and just the thing to wean you off your gluten habit and ease you into a different (may I say healthier?) way of eating.

Give them a go. You will be pleasantly surprised. Perhaps even feel better without the bloating that often accompanies gluten rich foods. Would you incorporate  gluten, egg or dairy free goods into your diet even if you are not intolerant? Would love to know…

Vegan tropical berry muffins printable PDF version

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2011 7:41 AM

    I am sure I will like those: you once offered them to me, but I never got to taste them. Now I have to make them myself. Where do you get cans with unsweetened pineapples in Dubai? That sounds like a mission 🙂

    • November 26, 2011 10:29 AM

      Anja, the Princes brand has no sugar added. I found it at Lulu Hypermarket. Hope you find it.

  2. November 24, 2011 11:26 AM

    Great post!

  3. December 2, 2011 5:52 PM

    These look amazing. We followed a dairy and gluten free diet for a month, just to give it a try. We felt really great, but ultimately cheese habits die hard 🙂

    • December 3, 2011 10:32 AM

      Quite understandable. It is very hard. I found that the longer you stick to it, the easier it becomes:)

Love hearing from you, so feel free to leave a comment.

