Skip to content

Lamb chops and stir fried vegetables for lunch.

August 31, 2012

 

We have had almost 10 weeks of school holidays now (I cannot wait for Monday…), it’s insane I know! With two growing boys and food intolerance to consider I feel as though I have done nothing but cook and clean lately. I am always in the kitchen. Normally this wouldn’t bother me so much, but with our new diet regime to try to knock the candida on the head and stop all my son’s tummy issues, we have been going without carbs. This has of course meant no more baking. No gluten-free pizza, no gluten/dairy/egg-free muffins, no gluten-free bread rolls and no gluten/grain free granola. It’s been tough I can tell you. What we have had instead are LOADS of vegetables and fruit and meat, fish and chicken. My friends that read this will know that I have never been a big fan of meat. Veg, yes. Meat, no. I realised many years ago after being a vegetarian for a while that I do better with a little meat. Lately however, it’s been some kind of animal protein every day. Wish we could eat eggs, but we can’t so it is meat instead.

I am not a nutritionist nor an expert on health. I don’t follow any particular diet trend  like vegan or paleo. I do believe that one should listen to one’s own body and see what you need as an individual. What makes you feel good? What makes you feel heavy and bloated? What is good for one person is not necessarily good for another. I do however think that everything in moderation is a good thing. Too much of one thing simply cannot be good for anyone. Thousands of people are finding out each day that their health problems are as a result of too much gluten or dairy or refined sugar. These foods are causing so many problems for so many people, so I think it best to go slow on them even if you are not intolerant to them.

The whole meat thing for these past couple of weeks has certainly made me feel sluggish and given me a horrible taste in my mouth. Even my tongue has been covered in a white film. I felt I couldn’t go on this way. So although we are still eating loads of vegetables and have increased our fruit intake and even brought starchy vegetables like potatoes and sweet potatoes into the mix, meat I am afraid is going back to once a week feature on our menu. We have been following this for the past two weeks and we are feeling so much better. My son and I have also been placed on a new food regime to try to eliminate some of our symptoms by a  nutritional and gut expert here in Dubai, so we are hoping for a big improvement really soon. Watch this space.

Our lunches can never be a grab of a quick sandwich or wrap. Our lunches have mostly got to be prepared from scratch. Sometimes it will be leftovers from the night before (although this is becoming more rare, since I don’t seem to be able to cook enough for these boys at the moment) or a salad. On this particular day I was in the supermarket in the morning and spotted these “Indian Lamb Chops”. They were thinner and paler than the Australian variety (above) that I normally buy. With a quick sprinkle of my own home dried rosemary, some sea salt and a splash of olive oil they were done in no time under the grill. Whilst they were grilling  away, a threw some vegetables in a wok with coconut oil and stir fried them lightly. Within 30 minutes we sat down to this lovely light lunch. I say light, because it was. There is nothing light about eating meat EVERT DAY though.

 

So that’s my quick lunch. Who says cooking has to be complicated? What’s your idea of a quick lunch? I would love to know if you have any gluten free/grain free options up your sleeve. Now, I’ve got to start thinking about those lunch boxes I will have to make next week…

Edwina

No comments yet

Love hearing from you, so feel free to leave a comment.

