Skip to content

Starting From Scratch in 2013.

January 1, 2013

14989412-2013-year-sign-on-abstract-bubble-background

Happy New Year! Tomorrow night this time we will be on a flight on the way to our new life and new home in Perth, Western Australia. Our lives are going to change dramatically. For the first time in a long time we are finally in charge of our own destiny…to some extent. We have purposefully climbed off the expat bandwagon to a “normal” life where we live to the beat of our own drum. It’s been five years of planning and two years of paperwork for our visas. We have visited Perth twice before. The first time to “activate” our visas and the second time for our kids to have school interviews. From the short time we were there we felt a positive vibe. A happy vibe. This is important.

Perth is not as beautiful as the Southern Cape where we have our South African home, but it does have a beauty of its own. It has huge Eucalyptus trees which are just lovely. Of course there are also beautiful beaches not unlike South African beaches. All in all it’s a great place to live. I have never moved to a place with preconceived ideas and have always tried to make the best of every place and find the good things about it. This time it is more serious. We have purposefully made this our home so no matter what, we will remain positive for the sake of our own happiness and our sons’ future.

It’s going to be tough starting over. Making new friends. Finding doctors and dentists. Not to mention a house to rent that will allow Zulu, our miniature French Poodle. It’s all a bit scary. I will also be a mature student. I will be going back to university to complete a second post graduate teaching diploma that will qualify me to teach the Early Years in Australia.That’s from Kindergarten to Year 3. So I will be coming full circle. I began my life after university as a teacher and a year from now I will be returning to teaching. My first profession. I am a teacher at heart. It’s in my blood. I have worked as a freelance photographer for the past few years, but that will be in the past with life in the classroom firmly in my sights. Photography, especially for this blog and a few other ideas I am working on will be purely for pleasure. It’s a relief really.

I hope you will join me as I share my new adventure with you all. If you live in Perth, don’t be shy to say “Hi!”.

I wish you all a blessed, happy, prosperous and healthy 2013. 

Edwina

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2013 12:10 PM

    Happy New Year to you Edwina! Wishing you all the best and and all the luck and all the health int his world to conquer your new adventure! Looking forward to reading more on My Mezzaluna Down Under.

  2. January 6, 2013 7:59 PM

    All the best to you! I am in awe of your transition back to ‘the motherland’ for me. I hope that it’s everything you want it to be, and I’m heartened by your comments that it’s a relief to turn your photography back into a hobby…kinda answers my own questions of the “what ifs” of being a teacher with a writing and photography hobby. Happy New Year!

    • January 6, 2013 9:25 PM

      I discovered that sometimes…or maybe always life is easier when it’s simple:)

Love hearing from you, so feel free to leave a comment.

