Skip to content

Starting over is not easy.

March 6, 2013

There are no photos for this post. Do you always need a picture to tell a story? I haven’t been posting lately because quite frankly I have not had enough time to wash my face let alone do a blog post.

So here we are immigrants in Perth. It’s hard. A new country, new job, stating uni, new house, new schools, trying to make new friends, find Gp’s and dentists, finding the best places to shop for food and especially gluten free items. The flour mixes are different. I haven’t found Doves’ Gluten Free flour, so my muffins are spongy!

Juggling uni, my school placement with lesson preparation, the kids and all their activities and cooking at least one square meal a day is taking it’s toll I tell you. I went into this thing with my eyes wide  open knowing full well that it was going to be a challenge. A challenge it sure is. I’m not one to shy away from a challenge mind you (with lots of encouragement from The Italian) so I guess I’ll just keep thinking of Dory, “keep swimming….keep swimming”.

My late nights and early mornings are not conducive to youthful good looks either. Goodness knows what I’m going to look like by the end of this year!

My assignments are stressing me out big time. It’s been 25 years since I attended university. We are expected to write academic style essays and assignments. At 47 after spending the last 12 years singing nursery rhymes and reading children’s stories this is no joke. I am struggling with staying in the third person for goodness sake.

Then there is the vague memory of once, not that long ago actually taking photographs for a living. The only things I have been photographing lately are students’ work for my assessment purposes. I cancelled my photography website and my photography Facebook page last week.  It feels good to have one less thing to worry about. Now I am wondering do I really need Facebook and Twitter in my life. It seems like an added complication when I am actually trying to simplify my life. Yes, I agree going back to uni and moving to a new country is not simplifying things…but surely you catch my drift?

Since I am not posting that often, visitor numbers have dropped….an indication that posting to Food Gawker works and I am not exactly in the taking- pretty-pictures-of-food-mode.

Would love to hear from you.

Edwina

ps. If you really want to look at pretty pictures, check out http://stillblog.net

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2013 12:30 AM

    Edwina, I am thinking about you so often and wondering how you are doing down there. Surely, settling into a new country is a challenge. Sending you some virtual hugs and support. You’ll rock it, babe! Just give it some time. It’s only been a couple of months. Give it another few, and you’ll be just fine. Most important thing is that you and your family are happy!!

  2. Martina permalink
    March 7, 2013 12:38 AM

    Hi Edwina! 🙂 It’s always so nice to read your sensible and interesting posts, I wish you that up from now (or at least asap) your swimming in the middle of the ocean may become a walking straight ahead on a plain valley… 🙂
    Concerning muffins, my mom is allergic to gluten and to milk also, I usually prepare her muffins with rice meal… but you have to eat the up quite quickly because they become… uh.. how to say… wet?? maybe you mean that with spongy…
    Best wishes and baci meantimes!

  3. April 3, 2013 2:10 PM

    Hi Edwina,

    Hello I am a food blogger based in perth too. We moved here 3 years ago and this city has almost grown on us. Love the natural beauty and the laid back attitude. Hope you can soon make it your home.

    Welcome to Perth.

  4. May 5, 2013 7:39 PM

    Welcome to Perth! This video will get you up to speed quickly! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NpW1dv6rTgk

    I’d like to say it was completely fabricated…

    • May 5, 2013 7:54 PM

      Thanks for the link..I had a good giggle. I think it’s expensive, but wonderful in every way. If people think drivers drive badly here, they should go to the Middle East! Driving here is wonderful!!

  5. sarahhedonista permalink
    May 13, 2013 8:30 PM

    So nice to hear from you – I’ve been wondering how you are going over there… I’m sure you’ll settle in soon – I could give you more pointers if you had moved to Melbourne though! Good luck with the whole uni thing – my brain went to my children, couldn’t possibly do it now.

Love hearing from you, so feel free to leave a comment.

