Skip to content

Perfect Allergen and Egg-Free Omlette with onion (Frittata di ceci e cipolle)

April 27, 2013

Chickpea Omlette

The reason you are actually seeing a post here is because it’s school and uni holidays here in Perth. A much needed break. I have used the past week to catch up on sleep, spend more time with the boys and actually take a few photos of what I’ve been cooking. We had the good fortune to spend Easter with good friends and family and of course that meant lots of eating too. Ever since arriving in Perth, G and I have been eating bits and pieces that we really should have stayed away from.  Over Easter it was Colomba (an Italian Easter cake) and chocolate. Lots of chocolate. After being off gluten and dairy for two years I guess we got a bit slack and thought it was ok to try a nibble here and there. Perth also offers quite a few gluten free options. Eating Gluten free burgers without checking if they contain egg or corn and pizza (addition of corn?) or those delicious Nasi Goreng take-aways ( egg!). The result of all this cheating was not what we hoped for. G’s arms and hands broke out in angry red patches, his mood was worse than usual and for me of course the usual symptoms of sore and inflamed joints. All that cheating really wasn’t worth it!

This relapse has taught us that after two years of being off the intolerance triggers, we are no better and may never be able to eat gluten, dairy, eggs , corn and a few other things. This also means that even though life has somewhat changed with me being at uni now, I simply have to make time to make life in the kitchen interesting again without making us sick.

With this in mind I’ve become obsessed with making my own gluten-free sourdough bread. Yesterday I began making my wild yeast starter and so far…nothing! Nothing has happened! I’m determined to make this a part of our lives so I will be reporting back on my GF sourdough experience often. I also came across this delicious egg-free omelette. Yes, you read correctly. An egg-free omelette. The Italian found this fantastic recipe whilst surfing the net and of course it was too good to be true. I’ve made it twice this past week already! The first time for lunch and the second time for a very late breakfast with some grilled bacon.

The recipe calls for chickpea flour, water, salt and pepper and sliced onions. That’s it! Nothing else. I had some left over cauliflower and added that in too. The second time I added in left over broccoli. Clearly this recipe is open to creative interpretation and I’m sure I’ll be adding whatever left overs I have lurking in the fridge. It’s so easy you simply have to try it.

Frittata

Print and view the Chickpea Frittata recipe.

For your viewing pleasure I suggest you check out the Italian dish (interpret as you will ). Even without understanding Italian, you can see what the dish (sorry I mean cook ) does!

Enjoy!

http://video.d.repubblica.it/il-gusto-giusto/la-frittata-di-ceci-e-cipolle/429/437

Edwina

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 3, 2013 4:30 PM

    This would be a great option for your egg-free friends. You won’t believe how good it is. 🙂

Love hearing from you, so feel free to leave a comment.

